Buongiorno… I mean, good morning.

Hello all! Apologies to those of you who have been incessantly checking this page, waiting on the edge of your seat for a follow up post, yearning to see some beautiful pictures of Italy. The process has stalled, and therefore blogging was not quite as exciting 🙂

RW is still waiting to get into Jumpmaster school. It turns out that he needed to take an airborne refresher course before he is eligible for Jumpmaster.  So here we are, three months later. Refresher course done. Oh well! I am working on my patience, remember? RW has completed the refresher course and is now studying for Jumpmaster school, which should start September 2.

Pictures from the jump
Pictures from the jump
photo 2
More from the jump

The Refresher course is necessary if it has been a certain amount of time since your last jump. It reviews all of the pertinent procedures and safety information. During this entire time, RW has been at Ft. Benning. He has been a little lonely as his 3 roommates are all at Ranger School. Pretty sure he is not envious of them at all, no one wants to do that again.

Basic Airborne Refresher Course- check
Basic Airborne Refresher Course- check

On the Florida home front, I have been keeping crazy busy. I spent three weeks traveling- first to Switzerland for my close friend’s wedding. Then I flew to Seattle to join my team for an overnight running relay race that started at Peace Arch Park at the Washington State-Canadian border and ended on Whidbey Island. We had a blast- everyone ran well, our van decorations were awesome (you cannot go wrong with a blow up orca whale on the top of the vehicle), and we enjoyed each other’s company before and after the race for a few days of downtime. I can tell you that the thing I will miss the most is the group of friends I have made in Sarasota. The good news is that we have already signed up for another relay next summer- Watch out, Utah! Following the race, I spent some time with RW’s family in the Seattle area. It was really fun to get to meet his cousin and his son, as well as spend some time just hanging out with his Aunt, uncle, and grandmother. After Seattle, I went to see my sister in Colorado Springs, which of course was fun. It was especially exciting now that she is a grown up police person and I got to ride along while she worked!

Course map for Ragnar Relay Northwest Passage
Course map for Ragnar Relay Northwest Passage.
The Free Willies at the finish line, complete with the whale
The Free Willies at the finish line, complete with the whale.

In other news, I quit my veterinary job and have started working part time at the local running specialty store. So far I do not miss it at all. I love the store, as it meshes the parts of my vet job that I liked (meeting new people, talking to them, and helping them) without the parts that sucked (if you have met me, you are aware of this list). I am interested to see where my interest in veterinary medicine lies when I really have to reflect and figure out the next step. But for now, I will read as much as I can about shoes, running, and gear so that I can be successful in this part of the journey.

Thanks for reading! I will keep you posted when there is more to share. Pictures from some of the adventures below.

Giant fork statue in the lake in Vevey. Home of Nestle.
Giant fork statue, Vevey, Switzerland. Home of Nestle.
View of Lake Geneva from the hotel, Chexbres, Switzerland.
View of Lake Geneva from the hotel, Chexbres, Switzerland.
The village of Zermatt- no cars allowed, must take a train into the town. Base for skiing and hiking. We were here when Germany won the World Cup.
The village of Zermatt- no cars allowed, must take a train into the town. Base for skiing and hiking. We were here when Germany won the World Cup.
The Matterhorn finally showed up after being covered in clouds all day.
The Matterhorn finally showed up after being covered in clouds all day.
My new favorite running shoes- brand is "ON," which is a Swiss company. After falling in love with the country, I had to give these a shot!
My new favorite running shoes- brand is “ON,” which is a Swiss company. After falling in love with the country, I had to give these a shot!

5 thoughts on “Buongiorno… I mean, good morning.

  1. This is awesome. So great to be able to read what’s going on with you guys, hear about the adventures, see where you’re traveling – but most of all, who would have thought CW2, a swimmer, would ever work at a running store! Probably my favorite part of the story. It’s great to see you doing cool running things and enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

